Skip to main content Deutsch

Siegfried Kasper - New Member of the European Academy of Sciences and Arts

All News
Siegfried Kasper

(Vienna, 03-08-2016) Siegfried Kasper, Head of the University Department of Psychiatry and Psychotherapy at the Medical University of Vienna, has been appointed as a new member of the European Academy of Sciences and Arts.

The European Academy of Sciences and Arts was founded in 1990, with the objective of creating an interdisciplinary and transnational network of scientists who consider significant questions and problems for Europe and work on recommendations for solutions. With 1900 scientists, the European Academy is one of the largest think tanks in Europe today, and includes Nobel Prize winners as well as selected members from natural sciences, philosophy, history and art. The Academy’s main tasks include developing knowledge, disseminating scientific findings and implementing them into international projects.

His Background
Siegfried Kasper, born in Salzburg in 1950, is a Professor of Psychiatry and Head of the University Department for Psychiatry and Psychotherapy at the Medical University of Vienna. He is a specialist of psychiatry and neurology as well as psychotherapy (psychoanalysis) in the list of psychotherapists for Austria and Germany. He has won the Grand Decoration of Honour in Silver for services in the Republic of Austria in addition to a number of national and international awards.

Kasper has conducted numerous studies within the fields of psychobiology, neuropsychopharmacology and clinical psychiatry. He currently has 614 publications in PubMed (Google: Citation Index: 28.784; Hirsch Index: 85; i10 Index: 467) and has published more than 250 books and book chapters, as well as teaching and textbooks in both German and English across different sectors of psychology.

Siegfried Kasper is and has been a member of the board for many national and international societies, for example the International College of Neuropsychopharmacology (CINP), the European College of Neuropsychopharmacology (ECNP), European Psychiatric Association (EPA), the Austrian Society of Neuropsychopharmacology and Biological Psychiatry (ASNBP), the Austrian Society of Drug Safety in Psychiatry (ASDSP) and the Austrian Society of Psychiatry and Psychotherapy (ASPP). During the period of 2012 to 2016, he was elected to the Executive Committee of the International College of Neuropsychopharmacology (CINP). Furthermore, he is the chair of the World Psychiatric Association (WPA) Section of Pharmacopsychiatry. He is a fellow of the Royal College of Psychiatrists (FRCP, UK), a fellow of the Scandinavian College of Neuropsycho-pharmacology (SCNP), an honourable member of the Czech, Romanian and Colombian Society for Psychopharmacology and Biological Psychiatry as well as the Ukrainian and Hungarian Society of Psychiatry. He has received honorary professorships from the University of Hong Kong in 2005 and the University of Andrés Bello in Santiago de Chile in 2014. In June 2016, he was appointed as a Visiting Professor to the Japanese Aino University. Siegfried Kasper was awarded with an honorary doctorate from the Craiova and Cluj-Napoca universities in Romania. He is a winner of the Austrian Honour Cross for Science and Art 1st Class.

Kasper is an editor of the World Journal of Biological Psychiatry, the International Journal of Psychiatry in Clinical Practice, a field editor for the International Journal of Neuropsychopharmacology, a section editor of the Expert Opinion on Pharmacotherapy, as well as an editor for psychiatry in the Journal of Neurology, Neurosurgery and Psychiatry. He sits on the board of editors for numerous scientific magazines (54 in total), including The Lancet Psychiatry, Journal of Clinical Psychiatry, CNS Spectrums, Journal of Affective Disorders, Pharmacopsychiatry and the European Archives of Psychiatry and Clinical Neuroscience.