Skip to main content Deutsch

Michaela Fritz is new Chair of FWF Assembly of Delegates

Vice Rector for Research and Innovation at MedUni Vienna takes the Chair – Deputy Chair will be Horst Bischof, Vice Rector for Research at Graz University of Technology
All News

(Vienna, 15 October 2019) The new Assembly of Delegates (term of office 2019 – 2023) met on 14 October 2019 to elect its chair for the second time since the Amended Research and Technology Funding Act of 2015. By creating this function, the aim of the Research and Technology Funding Act was to make this Committee more obviously independent within the management structure of the FWF. Michaela Fritz, Vice Rector for Research and Innovation of the Medical University of Vienna was finally elected to be the new Chair at the Assembly of Delegates meeting. Horst Bischof, Vice Rector for Research at Graz University of Technology was elected as her deputy. 

"I would like to thank my colleagues in the Assembly of Delegates for the confidence they have shown in me to carry out this role," said Michaela Fritz, in immediate response to her election, going on to add: "I see this Committee as both an important sparring partner for the FWF executive committee and its strategic direction and also as an important supporter, to protect the interests of the Austrian scientific community and the research institutions we represent in the political sphere in a constructive and committed manner."

"I heartily congratulate Michaela Fritz and Horst Bischof on their election and look forward to a good working relationship to secure Austria's position as a prosperous research location in the coming years," said FWF President Klement Tockner. "I would also like to take this opportunity to thank Josef Glößl for his excellent chairmanship and trust-based collaboration over the last term of office. My thanks also go to his deputy, Christine Bandtlow, and to the departing members of the Assembly of Delegates," concluded Tockner.

FWF Assembly of Delegates
The Assembly of Delegates is made up of representatives of universities and non-university research institutions. Just like the representatives of BMBWF [Austrian Ministry for Education, Science and Research] and BMVIT [Austrian Ministry for Transport, Innovation and Technology] – the FWS executive committee are among the non-voting members.

The central tasks of the Assembly of Delegates include:
•    electing four members of the Supervisory Board;
•    proposing three candidates for the function of President of the FWF;
•    passing a resolution to approve the FWF Annual Report;
•    commenting on the work and multiannual programmes and the FWF guidelines for funding programmes;
•    and choosing speakers, including deciding the scientific disciplines that are relevant for this.

FWF Assembly of Delegates, 6th term of office (2019-2023)

FWF Austrian Science Fund
The FWF (Austrian Science Fund) is Austria's central institution for funding basic research and artistic-scientific research. In accordance with international quality standards, it funds outstanding research projects and excellent scientists, who dedicate themselves to obtaining, expanding or deepening scientific knowledge.