Skip to main content Deutsch

Senate and University Council confirm MedUni Vienna Rector in post until 2027

Markus Müller re-elected for another term of office
All News
Bild: MedUni Wien/Matern

(Wien, 29 March 2022) - The Senate and University Council of the Medical University of Vienna have confirmed the incumbent rector, Markus Müller, in post until 2027. "The outstanding achievements to date and major ongoing infrastructure projects such as the Eric Kandel Institute - Center for Precision Medicine or the new MedUni Mariannengasse Campus building have resulted in this unanimous vote of confidence. The current ranking of University Hospital Vienna among the world's top 25 hospitals also underscores the university's high level of international visibility," explains Eva Dichand, Chair of the University Council of MedUni Vienna. "The Senate is fully behind the successful direction the university is taking under the leadership of Rector Müller. With 15 ERC award winners and a large number of new international appointments, we are on the right track for a successful future in research and teaching," added Maria Sibilia, Chair of the Senate.

Markus Müller, who is a consultant in internal medicine and clinical pharmacology, was elected as rector in May 2015 and has been in post since 1 October 2015. His term of office has now been extended by a further term running until September 2027.
Senate and University Council of MedUni Vienna
The Senate comprises 13 representatives of university professors, six representatives of university lecturers and research and teaching assistants, one representative of the general university staff and six student representatives. It is currently chaired by Maria Sibilia, head of the Center for Cancer Research. Alongside the Senate, the University Council is the central management committee for the University. Two members of the University Council are appointed by the Senate of the Medical University of Vienna and two by the Federal Government. These four members of the University Council then elect a fifth member. Members of the University Council serve for a five-year term. The current Chair is Eva Dichand.

About Markus Müller
Markus Müller was born in Klagenfurt, Austria, in 1967. In 1993 he received his doctorate "sub-auspiciis" from the Medical Faculty of the University of Vienna. He completed training in Austria, Sweden and the USA and is a consultant in internal medicine and clinical pharmacology.