Skip to main content Deutsch

Hans-Georg Kress appointed honorary member of the European Pain Federation EFIC

All News
Hans Georg Kress being presented with Honorary Membership of the European Pain Federation by its President, Bart Morlion (Belgium), and Immediate Past President Chris Wells (UK) (from left to right )

(Vienna, 24 October 2017) Hans-Georg Kress, Head of the Division of Specialist Anesthesia and Pain Medicine at MedUni Vienna’s Department of Anesthesia, Critical Care and Pain Medicine was appointed Honorary Member of the European Pain Federation EFIC at the 10th European Pain Conference in Copenhagen.

Hans Georg Kress has been given this prestigious and rare honour for his international services to pain medicine in Europe, in particular for promoting clinical pain research, public awareness of pain medicine and its establishment as a recognised specialist discipline.

The European Pain Federation was founded in Paris in 1993 and is dedicated to research and education, professional training and advanced training, as well as the establishment of European standards in pain medicine. Today the Brussels-based multidisciplinary European Pain Federation EFIC represents 38 national pain associations and more than 20,000 pain therapists throughout Europe.

Hans-Georg Kress was Federation Councilor from 2000 to 2004, Member of the Governing Board from 2005 to 2017 and President of the Federation from 2008 to 2014. The European Pain Federation EFIC is campaigning for the specialisation of pain medicine internationally, comparable to the specialisation that now exists in Australia and the USA, where it has close ties with the relevant pain associations.

About Hans Georg Kress
Hans Georg Kress is Professor of anaesthesia, critical care and pain medicine and has headed up the Division of Specialist Anesthesia and Pain Medicine at the Department of Anesthesia, Critical Care and Pain Medicine, MedUni Vienna/Vienna General Hospital, since 1993. He holds numerous awards and is a member of national and international professional societies, e.g. Austrian Pain Society (ÖSG), Int. Association for the Study of Pain IASP, European Society of Anaesthesiology ESA, Board of Directors of the European Malignant Hyperthermia Group EMHG, Honorary Member of the Polish Pain Society.