Skip to main content Deutsch

Vice Rector Christiane Druml confirmed as Chair of the Bioethics Commission

Nine new members, including Christian Egarter and Arnold Pollak of MedUni Vienna.

(Vienna, 6th March 2014) The heads of the Bioethics Commission at the Federal Chancellery of Austria remain unchanged: Federal Chancellor Werner Faymann has retained MedUni Vienna’s Vice Rector for Clinical Affairs, Christiane Druml, as Chair of the restructured advisory committee. The two serving Vice-Chairs, Markus Hengstschläger (Medical University of Vienna) and Peter Kampits (University of Vienna) were also confirmed in their posts.

Nine of the 25 Commission members are new to the committee, including Christian Egarter of the Department of Gynaecological Endocrinology and Reproductive Medicine at the MedUni Vienna and Arnold Pollak, Director of the University Department of Paediatrics and Adolescent Medicine at the MedUni Vienna.

About the Bioethics Commission
The Bioethics Commission was established in 2001 and advises the Federal Chancellor from an ethical point of view on all social, natural scientific and legal issues arising from scientific developments in human medicine and human biology. It makes recommendations, produces proposals on necessary legal provisions and provides expert opinions. The inaugural meeting of the newly reconstituted Commission will take place on 25 March.

The current membership of the Bioethics Commission: