Skip to main content Deutsch

Austrian Academy of Sciences scholarships for MedUni Vienna researchers

All News
[Translate to English:] Bild: ÖAW/Zilberberg

(Vienna, 04 August 2017) The Austrian Academy of Sciences awards scholarships to young scientists to fund their research projects. Scientists from MedUni Vienna are among those to receive this distinguished award.

128 young researchers were awarded a scholarship by the Austrian Academy of Sciences (ÖAW) and the Max Kade Foundation on 9 June 2017. They won the scholarships on the basis of their research projects from many different scientific disciplines by taking part in a competitive bidding process that the Austrian Academy of Sciences uses to support highly qualified young scientists working at home and abroad.

The DOC, DOC-team and MAX KADE young scientist funding programmes provide financial support for research projects from the fields of natural sciences, life sciences and medicine, as well as humanities and social and legal sciences. A total of 94 young scientists were accepted onto the DOC PhD programme and 23 Doc-team scholarships were awarded to PhD students working on interdisciplinary projects in the fields of humanities and social and cultural sciences. In addition to this, another eight postdocs are receiving a MAX KADE scholarship to enable them to conduct research in the USA.

An extraordinary donation received this year also funded three PhD scholarships in the area of medical sciences. The DOCmed scholarships have been specially set up to finance prospective doctors who are carrying out basic, patient-oriented research and aspiring to a career as a "MD Scientist". Two of the three scholarships went to researchers from MedUni Vienna.

Those receiving scholarships at MedUni Vienna are (in alphabetical order):

DOCMED (medical science scholarships):
Lukas Kazianka, C/EBPα - PU.1 Axis in Normal Hematopoiesis and MDS/leukemic Transformation, Division of Hematology and Hemastaseology
Johanna Strobl, Turnover and Function of Tissue-resident T cells: Lessons we Learn from Hematopoietic Stem Cell Transplant Patients, Department of Dermatology

DOC (ÖAW PhD programme):
Salman Abbas Zadeh, Novel Components and Modifiers of the Skin Barrier: Towards Improved Development of Topical Drugs, Department of Dermatology [DOC]
Stefanie Berger, Depression in Acute Intermittent Porphyria – Pathogenic Principles and Neurobiological Mechanism, Division of Neurophysiology and Pharmacology [DOC]
Julia Brunner, Arginine and the Metabolic Control of Osteoclastogenesis, Institute of Physiology [DOC]
Carina Dinhof, Resistance Mechanisms Against Novel Targeted Anti-cancer Drugs: Molecular Signatures and Impact on Immunogenicity, Institute of Cancer Research [DOC]
Aleksej Drino, Identification and Characterization of Protein-tRNA Fragment Interactions, Center for Anatomy and Cell Biology [DOC]
Alexander Grandits, The Role of Downregulation of the Metastasis Suppressor 1 (MTSS1) Gene in Chemotherapy Resistance and Relapse of Acute Myeloid Leukemia, Department of Medicine I [DOC]
Sonja Hager, Insights into the Anticancer Mechanisms of Novel Thiosemicarbazones, Institute of Cancer Research [DOC]
Patricia Hamminger, Identification and Characterization of the HDAC1 Interaction Network in Th17 Cells, Institute of Immunology [DOC]
Manfred Klöbl, Establishing Real-Time Neurofeedback using Functional Magnetic Resonance Tomography for the Treatment of Treatment-Resistant Depression, Department of Psychiatry and Psychotherapy [DOC]
Anne Elisabeth Miller, The Biochemistry and Physiology of Heptose Metabolism, Department of Laboratory Medicine [DOC]
Robert Pazdzior, Autocrine Signalling in Drug-Induced Pancreatic Alpha to Beta Cell Transdifferentiation, CeMM – Research Center for Molecular Medicine [DOC]
Lucas Rischka, Quantification of Task-Specific Glucose Metabolism with [18F] FDG Bolus and Constant Infusion with Simultaneous PET/MRI: Optimisation of Task Length, Sensitivity and Reliability, Department of Psychiatry and Psychotherapy [DOC]
Johannes Schmöllerl, Identification of Critical Oncogenic Effectors of NUP98-DDX10-dependent Acute Myeloid Leukemia, Ludwig Boltzmann Institute for Cancer Research [DOC]
Mark Smyth, The Organ-specific Nature of Cytotoxic T Lymphocyte-Driven Viral Evolution, CeMM – Research Center for Molecular Medicine [DOC]
Nyamdelger Sukhbaatar, Control of Erythropoiesis by mTORC1-dependent Macrophage Functions, Institute of Medical Genetics [DOC]
Marin Vujic, Long Non-coding RNAs in Neuroblastoma RAS Viral Oncogene Homolog (NRAS) Mutant Malignant Melanoma, Children's Cancer Research Institute [DOC]