Skip to main content

Center for Biomedical Research

Medical Science Divisions of the MedUni Vienna

Head: Univ.-Prof. Dr. Bruno Karl Podesser

Center for Biomedical Research
AKH Vienna, BT 24, Leitstelle 1Q
Währingergürtel 18-20
1090 Vienna, Austria

T: +43 (0)1 40400-52210


MedUni Vienna’s Department of Biomedical Research is divided into three divisions: the Division of Laboratory Animal Science and Genetics, the Division of Decentralized Biomedical Facilities and the Division of Biomedical Research.

Biomedical research is one the most exciting fields of scientific research, because it provides a direct link between medicine on the one hand and the so-called Life Sciences such as biology, biochemistry, molecular biology and veterinary medicine and the technical sciences such as physics, electronics, informatics and computer sciences on the other. This abstract definition stands in complete contrast to the very concrete nature of the daily work involved. The aim is to support researchers in the planning and execution of a concrete project, on all levels.

In addition to this, the Department of Biomedical Research at MedUni Vienna is an internationally recognized education center with the corresponding level of accreditation and equipment.


  • Abteilung für Labortierkunde und -genetik
  • Abteilung für dezentrale Biomedizinische Einrichtungen
  • Abteilung für Biomedizinische Forschung