Skip to main content Deutsch

Department of Medicine I

University Departments of the MedUni Vienna / Vienna General Hospital

Head: Univ.-Prof. Dr. Heinz Burgmann
2nd Deputy Head: Univ.-Prof. Dr. Peter Valent

Department of Medicine I
Währinger Gürtel 18-20
1090 Vienna, Austria

P: +43 (0)1 40400-44570
F: +43 (0)1 40400-44280


The Department of Medicine I is split into four different divisions: Oncology, Hematology and Hemastaseology, Infectious Diseases and Tropical Medicine, and Palliative Medicine.  It also comprises the critical care and bone marrow transplantation wards and three day hospitals.

All these facilities, and the doctors working in them, are dedicated to pursuing and refining optimal strategies for diagnosing and treating patients. At the same time, they are constantly exploring the causes, underlying structures and mechanisms of the diseases that fall within this specialism.