Skip to main content Deutsch

University Council

Like the Senate, the University Council is a central governing body. Two of the Council’s members are appointed by the Senate of the Medical University of Vienna, and two by the federal government. A fifth member is elected by these four members. University Council members hold office for five years.


The University Council of the Medical University of Vienna consists of the following people (as of March 1st, 2023):

Dr. Eva Dichand
media manager

em o. Prof. Dr. medical dr h.c. Christopher Huber
Hematologist, Immunologist, Oncologist

Dr. Sigrid Pilz
Educational scientist and psychologist, former patient advocate for the province of Vienna

Prof. Dr. medical Thomas Zeltner
Special Envoy of the WHO and former Head of the Federal Office of Public Health in Switzerland

In the constitutive meeting on March 27, 2023, a 5th member will be appointed and the chair will be elected.