Skip to main content

Scientific Advisory Board

The Medical University of Vienna Scientific Advisory Board was established in October 2012.

Consisting of six members, this external body advises the MedUni Vienna Rectorate on all matters related to research (including clinical practice, teaching, human resources), with the aim of safeguarding the University’s strategic positioning as set out in the current development plan. The Board also makes proposals for improvements and international benchmarking.


The six members of the Scientific Advisory Board are high-level researchers with international track records and expertise covering covering the University’s five research clusters.

(f.l.t.r.) Robert Schwarcz, Michael Roden, Federica Sallusto, Sarah König, Hedwig Hricak und Joseph Coyle

Prof. Federica Sallusto, MD

Institute for Research in Biomedicine

Bellinzona, Switzerland

Hedwig Hricak, MD, PhD

Chair, Department of Radiology at Memorial Sloan-Kettering Cancer Center

Professor of Radiology at Cornell University Medical College
New York City

Joseph T. Coyle, MD

Eben S. Draper Professor of Psychiatry and Neuroscience

Harvard Medical School, Boston

Prof. Robert Schwarcz, PhD

Professor of Psychiatry, Pharmacology and Pediatrics, Department of Psychiatry

University of Maryland School of Medicine

Univ.Prof. DDr. h.c. Michael Roden

Scientific Director German Diabetes Center (DDZ)

Director of the Institute for Clinical Diabetology,
Chair and Professor of Medicine,
Heinrich-Heine University Düsseldorf

Univ.Prof. Dr. med. Sarah König

Institute Director for Medical Education and Training Research

Institut für Medizinische Lehre und Ausbildungsforschung
Julius-Maximilians-Universität Würzburg