Skip to main content

Good Scientific Practice

Guidelines for scientific integrity

It is the duty of universities to promote research and they are responsible for ensuring that research projects are conducted properly, in line with scientific, ethical and legal criteria.

Good Scientific Practice

In order to guarantee this, universities have to establish clear rules and standards. The present "Good Scientific Practice" – Ethics in Science and Research – Guidelines of the Medical University of Vienna have been drawn up in consideration of the latest international guidelines and approved by the University Senate. 

These Guidelines are mandatory for all members of MedUni Vienna. Their purpose is to guarantee that research at MedUni Vienna is conducted in compliance with international standards. However, they also support researchers themselves by clearly defining their rights and obligations. 

The common aim must be to produce research that is committed to the common good, is conducted with integrity and transparency in line with scientific and ethical criteria and competes successfully on the international stage.


Ombudsman for Good Scientific Practice

The Medical University of Vienna's Guidelines for Good Scientific Practice create a framework for responsible, fair and self-critical research by MedUni Vienna staff and are an essential prerequisite for guaranteeing high-quality scientific work at our university.

The GSP ombudsman at MedUni Vienna offers all scientists who work for or are students at MedUni Vienna support with Quality Assurance in compliance with the Guidelines for Good Scientific Practice. The GSP ombudsman is obliged to follow up any serious suspicions of misconduct in connection with research work.

You can contact the GSP ombudsman at: ombudsstelle-gsp@meduniwien.ac.at

Skip to main content

Good Scientific Practice

Richtlinien für wissenschaftliche Integrität

Universitäten haben die Aufgabe, Forschung zu fördern und tragen die Verantwortung dafür, dass Forschungsprojekte einwandfrei nach wissenschaftlichen, ethischen und rechtlichen Kriterien durchgeführt werden.

Good Scientific Practice

Um dies zu gewährleisten müssen von den Universitäten klare Regeln und Standards  festgelegt werden. Die vorliegenden „Good Scientific Practice“ – Ethik in Wissenschaft und Forschung – Richtlinien der Medizinischen Universität Wien sind unter Berücksichtigung neuester internationaler Guidelines von der MedUni Wien ausgearbeitet und vom Senat beschlossen worden.

Diese Richtlinien sind für alle Angehörigen der MedUni Wien verbindlich. Sie sollen garantieren, dass an der MedUni Wien durchgeführte Forschung nach internationalen Standards vorgenommen wird. Sie unterstützen aber auch die Forscherinnen und Forscher selbst, indem sie ihre Rechte und Pflichten klar formulieren.

Das gemeinsame Ziel muss eine dem Gemeinwohl verpflichtete, nach wissenschaftlichen und ethischen Kriterien integre, transparente und im internationalen Wettbewerb auch erfolgreiche Wissenschaft darstellen.


Ombudsstelle zur Sicherung guter wissenschaftlicher Praxis

Die Richtlinien für gutes wissenschaftliches Arbeiten / Good Scientific Practice der Medizinischen Universität Wien stellen den Rahmen für verantwortliche, faire und selbstkritische Forschung der Mitarbeiter und Mitarbeiterinnen der MedUni Wien dar und sind unabdingbare Voraussetzung, um hochqualitatives wissenschaftliches Arbeiten an unserer Universität sicherzustellen.

Die Ombudsstelle GSP an der MedUni Wien bietet allen WissenschafterInnen, die in einem Arbeits- oder Ausbildungsverhältnis an der MedUni Wien stehen, Unterstützung bei der Qualitätssicherung entsprechend der Richtlinien für Good Scientific Practice. Die Ombudsstelle GSP hat die Verpflichtung konkreten Verdachtsmomenten auf Fehlverhalten in der Forschung nachzugehen.

Sie erreichen die Ombudstelle GSP unter: ombudsstelle-gsp@meduniwien.ac.at